|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |
BUDWEISER Oxford Championship Series
SLMs, Street Stocks, Bandits, Figure 8s, & Rookies
Scott Moore Scores Second Career
Super Late Model Win

Oxford, ME - Scott Moore of Anson raced to his first Super Late Model victory of the season Saturday night, headlining the Budweiser Championship Series stock car racing card at Oxford Plains Speedway. It was the second career win for the veteran competitor

Moore, who last tasted victory in the top class at OPS during the 2002 racing season, swapped the early race lead with Hebron's Alan Wilson before settling into an entertaining battle with Josh Childs of Otisfield, who turned in the quickest laps during the race.

But Moore drove masterfully through lapped traffic to reclaim the race lead, and managed to beat a fast-closing Reid Lanpher to the checkered flag by .15-seconds. Lanpher, of Manchester, raced from 19th starting position to his second-place finish.

Dixfield's Scott Robbins earned yet another third-place finish, just edging out Farmingdale's Johnny Clark for the final trophy. Clark, who started 16th, raced for several entertaining laps with runner-up Lanpher through slower traffic. Championship points leader Curtis Gerry of Waterboro rounded out the top five after starting in 22nd spot.

Hometown racer Skip Stanley won for the second time this season in the 30-lap main event for Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock racers. Stanley won a couple of tough battles to earn his victory, holding off Lisbon's Rick Spaulding after prevailing in an extended battle with early race leader, and eventual third-place finisher, Pat Thorne of Standish. Current points leader Matt Dufault of Turner prevailed in a racelong battle for fourth position versus Peru driver Dan Brown.

Jake Hall of Oxford made his first appearance of the season an impressive one, leading the field of four-cylinder Bandit division racers throughout their 20-lap feature race. Hall's closest rival was friend Mike McKinney of Bryant Pond, also returning to action after an extended absence. Defending champion and current points leader Dustin Salley of Mechanic Falls was the third-place finisher. Rookie Alex Mowatt of Norway and Poland's Jeff Libby rounded out the top five.

Dale Lawrence of Minot raced to his second Figure 8 race win of the year, leading the 15-lap race from start to finish. Poland's Larry Lizotte was the best of the rest, with Greg Durgin of South Paris earning the third-place trophy over the previous week's winner, Kyle Glover of Oxford.

Brady Childs of Leeds won for the sixth time this season in the Rookie divison. Minot's Dylan Cook had his best race, earning runner-up honors ahead of Arundel's Cole Binette. Owen Stuart of Naples and Norway's Jeremy Turner rounded out the top-five.

The Budweiser Championship Series resumes on Saturday, August 10 at 7:00 p.m., with five weekly classes, topped by the Super Late Models. It's the first half of a weekend doubleheader at Oxford Plains Speedway, with a 150-lap Pro All Stars Series Super Late Model race topping a special, Sunday racing card at 5:00 p.m. on August 11. The 46th Annual Oxford 250, a PASS National Championship Super Late Model race and New England's biggest annual short track stock car racing event, is scheduled for Sunday, August 25. For more information call (207) 539-8865.

Results from the Saturday, August 3, 2019 Budweiser Oxford Championship Series program at Oxford Plains Speedway showing finishing position, car number, driver's name, driver's hometown:

Super Late Model (50 laps)
1 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 2 59 Reid Lanpher, Manchester; 3 72 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 4 54 Johnny Clark, Farmingdale; 5 7 Curtis Gerry, Waterboro; 6 7 Travis Benjamin, Morrill; 7 3 Josh Childs, Otisfield; 8 88 Brandon Barker, Windham; 9 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 10 90 Craig Weinstein, East Walpole, MA; 11 88 Jeff Taylor, Farmington; 12 73 Adam Polvinen, Hebron; 13 50 Jeff White, Winthrop; 14 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 15 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford; 16 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 17 44 Rusty Poland, Windham; 18 81 Dan Winter, Windham, NH; 19 19 Ben Tinker, New Gloucester; 20 36 Ryan Robbins, Dixfield; 21 21 Scott Chubbuck, Bowdoinham; 22 18 Mike Scorzelli, Feura Bush, NY; 23 29 Austin Teras, Gray; DNS 54 Ryan Deane, Winterport; 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield. 

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps) 1 1 64 Skip Stanley, Oxford; 2 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 3 27 Pat Thorne, Standish; 4 61 Matt Dufault, Turner; 5 83 Dan Brown, Peru; 6 09 Mark Turner, Norway; 7 47 Brian Caswell, Buxton; 8 55 Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 9 5 Guy Childs, Lewiston; 10 21 Skip Tripp, South Paris.

Bandits (20 laps) 1 3 Jake Hall, Oxford; 2 08 Mike McKinney, Bryant Pond; 3 18 Dustin Salley, Mechanic Falls; 4 11 Alex Mowatt, Norway; 5 44 Jeff Libby, Poland; 6 24 Travis Verrill, South Paris; 7 54 Chad Wills, Oxford; 8 26 Travis Green, Turner; 9 04 Caleb Proctor, Casco; 10 34 Bobby Doherty, Norfolk, MA; 11 55 Dean Jordan, Jay; 12 20 Brian Hiscock, Turner; 13 1 Grady Doherty, Casco; 14 12 Jake Dobson, Hartford; 15 6 Jacob Pinoski, Hartford.

Figure 8 (15 laps) 1 2 Dale Lawrence, Minot; 2 00 Larry Lizotte, Poland; 3 41 Greg Durgin, South Paris; 4 07 Kyle Glover, Oxford.

Rookie (15 laps) 1 1 Brady Childs, Leeds; 2 87 Dylan Cook, Minot; 3 96 Cole Binette, Arundel; 4 8 Owen Stuart, Naples; 5 09 Jeremy Turner, Norway; 6 95 Maddy Herrick, Norway.