|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |  Monster Trucks  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |
Oxford, Maine -- Shawn Martin of Turner charged around the outside of his Budweiser Super Late Model rivals, including reigning champion Timmy Brackett of Buckfield at the scheduled halfway point, and five laps later crossed under yellow and checkered flags to claim victory in a 30-lap headline race at Oxford Plains Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Martin, who started sixth, was pulling away from all rivals when the race was cut short. Brackett and fellow Buckfield competitor Kyle Treadwell were second and third-place finishers, respectively. Rookie Super Late Model driver Josh Childs of Oxford posted an impressive fourth-place finish, and was gaining on frontrunners when the race was cut short.

Opening Day Budweiser Championship Series Super Late Model winner Glen Luce of Turner rounded out the top five after lining up behind three-quarters of his rivals on the starting grid for the 30-lapper. Dennis Spencer, Jr., of Oxford, led much of the early half of the race before finishing seventh.

Bryce Mains of Naples led wire-to-wire to win the 30-lap Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock feature race, holding off multiple challengers throughout a hotly-contested event.

Calvin Rose Jr., who won the opener in the Street Stock class, charged from deep on the starting grid to claim runner-up honors. Sabattus teen Jonathan Emerson was third across the finish line, followed by West Poland's David Whittier, and Matt Dufault of Turner. Mains and Jordan Russell of Norway posted heat race victories.

Windham's Austin Teras bounced back from an unscheduled pit stop with just a couple of laps left to win a 25-lap Legends Cars race that the 13-year-old otherwise dominated. Peter Craig of Poland was a close second at the finish, with third-place hardware going to Dylan Varney of Windham. Hiram's Roger Edgecomb and Parker Varney of Windham were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Oxford's Shaun Hinkley, the reigning champion in the Bandits division, made his first appearance of the 2016 racing season a successful one, outrunning Waterford's Jamie Heath to the checkered flag in the 20-lap main event for the Speedway's entry-level Championship Series class.

Charlie Hall of Oxford led the race early on and claimed the third-place trophy. Tyler Greene of Turner and New Gloucester's Dan Wade filled out the top five. Gerard Cote and Charlie Hall won the Bandit division's heat races.

Kyle Kilgore of South Paris scored his first Figure 8 division win, inheriting the race lead when earlier damage from contact sidelined reigning champion and MVRCA Hall of Famer Jon Lizotte of Lewiston. Kilgore was chased under the checkered flag by Gail Williams of Sumner and Minot's Eric Hodgkins.

Next Saturday night the first Motor Mayhem program of the 2016 season is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. at Oxford Plains Speedway. The Budweiser Championship Series resumes with Super Late Models topping the weekly Saturday night racing card at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, May 14.

Unofficial Results from the Budweiser Championship Series racing card on May 1, '16
Oxford Plains Speedway; Oxford, Maine, showing finishing order, car number, driver's name, driver's hometown:

           Photos by Joseph Johnson  -
Budweiser Super Late Model (30 laps, shortened from scheduled 50-lap distance due to rain) 1 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 2 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 3 44 Kyle Treadwell, Buckfield; 4 3 Josh Childs, Oxford; 5 7 Glen Luce, Turner; 6 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 7 46 Dennis Spencer, Oxford; 8 0 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 9 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 10 01 Sammy Gooden, Whitefield, NH; 11 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 12 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 13 72 Chris Coolidge, Norway; 14 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 15 3 Vanna Brackett, Buckfield; 16 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner; 17 8 Poncho Darveau, Augusta; 18 64 Ryan Deane, Winterport.
Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps) 1 77 Bryce Mains, Naples; 2 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 3 24 Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 4 58 David Whittier, West Poland; 5 61 Matt Dufault, Turner; 6 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 7 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 8 33 Andrew Breton, Sabattus; 9 4 Jordan Russell, Norway; 10 04 Zach Bowie, Turner; 11 56 Mike Short, Auburn; 12 60 Richard Wentworth, Center Conway, NH; 13 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 14 3 Zack Dresser, Oxford; 15 05 Glen Reynolds, Greene; 16 55 Kurt Hewins, Leeds.
INEX Legends Cars (25 laps) 1 29 Austin Teras, Windham; 2 4 Peter Craig, Poland; 3 80 Dylan Varney, Windham; 4 27 Roger Edgecomb, Hiram; 5 18 Parker Varney, Windham; 6 3 Justin Stacey, Hiram; 7 7 Kayla King, Buxton; 8 21 Brenda Humphrey, Cornish.

Macdonald Motors Bridgton
Bandits (20 laps) 1 2 Shaun Hinkley, Oxford; 2 91 Jamie Heath, Waterford; 3 3 Charlie Hall, Oxford; 4 26 Tyler Greene, Turner; 5 17 Dan Wade, New Gloucester; 6 5 Jake Hall, Oxford; 7 13 Bill Grover, Waterford; 8 8 Josh Knoll, Mechanic Falls; 9 0 Mathew Mahar, Raymond; 10 58 Cam Childs, Leeds; 11 56 Adrianna McDaniel, Bridgton; 12 4 Caleb Emerson-Mains, New Gloucester; 13 28 William Barker, Oxford; 14 08 Michael McKinney, Berlin, NH; 15 44 Rick Montminy, Auburn; 16 14 Adam O'Neil, Lewiston; 17 41 Brad Johnson, Fairfield; 18 33 Matt Hiscock, Turner; 19 05 Gerard Cote, Oxford; 20 18 Brian Hiscock, Turner; 21 1 Brandon Varney, Auburn; 22 77 Rob Crepeau, Minot; 23 32 Troy Smith, Bridgton; 24 11 Jason Porter, Freeport; 25 82 James Record, Oxford.

Arians/Gravely/Dave's Small Engine Figure 8 (15 laps) 1 4 Kyle Kilgore, South Paris; 2 39 Gail Williams, Sumner; 3 97 Eric Hodgkins, Minot; 4 3 Robert Morey, Lisbon; 5 27 Jon Lizotte, Lewiston; 6 6 Geoff Lowe, Minot.