|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |  Monster Trucks  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |

Super Late Model Rookie Ben Ashline
Seventh Winner in Seven Weeks
Oxford, Maine - Ben Ashline nailed down his first-ever Super Late Model victory in just his third career start in the class in the 50-lap headline race Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Ashline, a proven winner in the discontinued Late Model division at OPS a few year back, led all the way to claim victory in the ultra-competitive class, becoming the seventh different winner in seven Super Late Model races this season. It was just his third start in the class, all in Gary & Renee Smith's Uncle Henry's-sponsored car.

Ashline's closest rival under the checkered flag was Dixfield's Scott Robbins, who finished some four seconds behind the victor. The final 49 laps of the race were caution-free. Reigning champion and current Budweiser Championship Series points leader Timmy Brackett of Buckfield added another trophy to his collection with a third-place trophy.

Winterport's Ryan Deane just missed out on a podium finish after running most of the race in second position. Adam Polvinen of Auburn, a first-time Super Late Model winner in the previous race at Oxford Plains Speedway, rounded out the top five. Polvinen and Deane won the 12-lap heat races for the Super Late Models.

Calvin Rose, Jr., of Turner, came from deep in the starting field to earn his second victory of the year in Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock competition. Rose, last year's top rookie in the class, padded his lead atop the championship standings in the Budweiser Championship Series' top support division.

Turner's Matt Dufault was the best of the rest in the Rodney Williams 61, with Zach Emerson of Sabattus claiming yet another podium finish, this time in third position. Kyle Hewins led the early portion of the 30-lapper and ended up with a fourth-place finish, in front of the previous week's winner, Rick Spaulding of Lisbon. Rose and Dufault won the 10-lap heat races.

Jamie Heath of Waterford retained his championship lead in the Bandits division with a hard-earned victory in his 20-lap main event. Heath got bounced around by a couple of his rivals before getting to the front of the field and maintaining enough of an advantage to stay ahead of all rivals.

Tyler Green of Turner was closest to Heath under the checkered flag, and remains closest in the championship chase. Kyle Hewins finished third in the Varney Racing ride as regular hotshoe Brandon Varney was attending his girlfriend's graduation ceremonies.

Josh Knoll of Mechanic Falls was the fourth-place finisher, with the top five filled out by Poland's Dustin Salley. Hewins, Knoll and Salley won 8-lap heat races in the MacDonalds Motors of Bridgton-sponsored class.

Eric Hodgkins of Minot survived a last-lap crash to nail down his third win of the season in the Figure 8 15-lapper. Hodgkins was chased under the checkered flag by reigning champion Jon Lizotte of Lewiston, with Dave Smith of South Paris, another legendary veteran, claiming third-place hardware. Kyle Kilgore of South Paris was fourth, followed by Larry Hewins of Leeds.

The Budweiser Championship Series at Oxford Plains Speedway resumes on Saturday night, June 18 at a special 6:30 p.m. post time, with the Valenti Modified Racing Series in town for a 100-lap race, joining the Super Late Models atop the racing card. Oxford Plains Speedway is located at 877 Main Street (State Route 26) in Oxford, Maine. For more information please visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Unofficial results from the Budweiser Championship Series on Saturday, June 11, 2016 at Oxford Plains Speedway; Oxford, Maine, showing finishing order, car number, driver's name, driver's hometown:

Photos by Joseph Johnson  -
Budweiser Super Late Model (50 laps) 1 75 Ben Ashline, Fairfield; 2 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 3 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 4 64 Ryan Deane, Winterport; 5 73 Adam Polvinen, Auburn; 6 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 7 7 Glen Luce, Turner; 8 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner; 9 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 10 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 11 23 Dave Farrington, Jr., Jay; 12 59 Reid Lanpher, Manchester; 13 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 14 3c Josh Childs, Oxford; 15 94x Garrett Hall, Scarborough; 16 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford; 17 0 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 18 3 Vanna Brackett, Buckfield; 19 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 20 41 Tracy Gordon, Strong; 21 01 Sammy Gooden, Jr., Whitefield, NH.
Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps) 1 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 2 61 Matt Dufault, Turner; 3 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 4 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 5 36 Richard Spaulding, Lisbon; 6 77 Bryce Mains, Naples; 7 58 David Whittier, West Poland; 8 24 Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 9 33 Andrew Breton, Sabattus; 10 05 Glen Reynolds, Greene; 11 71 Jason LaValley, Auburn; 12 5 Guy Childs, Sr., Sabattus; 13 17 Billy Childs, Jr., Leeds; 14 4 Jordan Russell, Norway; 15 41 Caleb Emerson, New Gloucester.
MacDonald Motors of Bridgton Bandit (20 laps) 1 91 Jamie Heath, Waterford; 2 26 Tyler Green, Turner; 3 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 4 8 Josh Knoll, Mechanic Falls; 5 21 Dustin Salley, Poland; 6 2 Shaun Hinkley, Oxford; 7 04 Cam Childs, Leeds; 8 4 Caleb Emerson-Mains, New Gloucester; 9 05 Gerard Cote, Oxford; 10 08 Michael McKinney, Berlin, NH; 11 12 Tyler Merrill, Poland; 12 14 Adam O'Neil, Lewiston; 13 13 Bill Grover, Waterford; 14 56 Adrianna, McDaniel, Bridgton; 15 3 Charlie Hall, Oxford; 16 44 Rick Montminy, Auburn; 17 77 Rob Crepeau, Minot; 18 41 Brad Johnson, Fairfield; 19 24 Diana Quinlan, Westbrook; 20 18 Brian Hiscock, Turner; 21 20 Darryl Quinlan, Westbrook; 22 33 Matt Hiscock, Turner; 23 0 Matthew Mahar, Raymond; 24 5 Jacob Hall, Oxford; 25 17 Dan Wade, New Gloucester.
Ariens/Gravely/Dave's Small Engines Figure 8 (15 laps) 1 97 Eric Hodgkins, Minot; 2 27 Jon Lizotte, Lewiston; 3 54 David Smith, South Paris; 4 4 Kyle Kilgore, South Paris; 5 55 Larry Hewins, Leeds; 6 3 Robert Morey, Lisbon; 7 5 Ernie Flaherty, Winthrop; 8 39 Gale Williams, Sumner.