|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |  Monster Trucks  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |
SATURDAY, MAY 25th, 2016


Bangorís Gary Smith is First-time
Oxford Plains Speedway
Super Late Model Winner
Nine winners in nine races for top class,
Matt Dufault dominant in Street Stocks
Oxford, Maine - Gary Smith of Bangor drove to victory lane after charging past a few early race leaders to claim a career-first Oxford Plains Speedway Super Late Model win, topping the Budweiser Championship Series stock car racing card on MacDonald Motors of Bridgton night at Oxford Plains Speedway on Saturday.

Rookie Josh Childs of Oxford led a healthy portion of the Super Late Model 50-lapper's early stages before yielding to Hebron's Alan Wilson, who set the pace through the event's middle stages. Anson's Scott Moore took the point away from Wilson, but there was no stopping Smith and his 75, and when the checkered flag waved Smith was in the spotlight for the first time at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Adam Polvinen of Auburn was closest to the winner under the checkered flag, with the previous week's Super Late Model winner, Scott Robbins of Dixfield, grabbing a third consecutive trophy. Moore, running better than ever recently at OPS, and Wilson filled out the top five.

Heat races were won by rookie Childs and Buckfield's Timmy Brackett, the division's reigning champion and current points leader, who finished seventh in the 50-lap main event behind Shawn Martin of Turner. Smith became the ninth different winner in nine races contested thus far for the ultra-competitive Super Late Model class at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Matt Dufault of Turner nailed down his second victory of the year in the wildly-competitive, unusually-aggressive 30-lap main event for Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stocks. After starting well back in the field, Dufault was about to make a three-wide move for the lead stick when he got helped out of contention.

Restarting at the back once again, Dufault steered the Rodney Williams 61 around the competition for a second time to join points leader Calvin Rose, Jr. of Turner as the only multi-race winners thus far this year. West Poland's David Whittier settled for runner-up honors after leading most of the race. Zach Emerson of Sabattus claimed yet another third-place trophy. Andrew Breton of Sabattus and the battered car of Rose rounded out the top five. Whittier and Dufault won the heat races.

Josh Knoll of Mechanic Falls prevailed, capitalizing upon his enduro racing experience to claim the race lead and eventual victory in MacDonald Motors of Bridgton Bandits main event action. Knoll worked traffic flawlessly as the race leaders encountered thick lapped traffic in the closing laps of the event to claim the impressive victory.

Bandits point leader Jamie Heath of Waterford charged from the back of the pack and earned runner-up honors as the checkered flag waved. Turner's Tyler Green led most of the race before crossing the finish line in third position. Michael McKinney of Berlin, NH and Waterford's Bill Grover rounded out the top five. Brandon Varney of Auburn and Heath earned heat race victories.

Legendary Figure 8 racer David Smith of South Paris raced to his first victory in a long time, outgunning reigning division champion and Maine Hall of Famer Jon Lizotte in an entertaining 15-lapper for the Ariens/Gravely/Dave's Small Engine class. Eric Hodgkins was third after winning the previous event. Kyle Kilgore of South Paris and Lisbon's Robert Morey filled out the top five.

Duane Skofield of Plaistow, New Hampshire took the lead away from his nephew, reigning champion Eric Skofield from the same town, en route to victory lane in a 20-lap race for the North East Classic Lites. Sam Gilman of Sandown, New Hamphshire nailed down a third-place finish at his favorite racetrack. Granite Staters Dan Poliquin and Tom Harton filled out the top five.

Oxford Plains Speedway is a busy place for the next few days as the Nation prepares to celebrate Independence Day. The Budweiser Championship Series divisions see action on Saturday night, July 2 for Applebees Night, with fireworks and the Super Late Model-topped Budweiser Championship Series card. On Sunday, July 3 a Colossal Carnage 100-lap endure and a PASS non-winners race top a racing program also highlighted by the Nort East Street Stock Tour. For more information visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Unofficial results from MacDonald Motors of Bridgton Night for the Budweiser Championship Series at Oxford Plains Speedway; Oxford, Maine, on Saturday, June 25, 2016 showing finishing order, car number, driver's name, driver's hometown:
Photos by Joseph Johnson
Super Late Model (50 laps) 1 75 Gary Smith, Bangor; 2 73 Adam Polvinen, Auburn; 3 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 4 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 5 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 6 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 7 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 8 3 Josh Childs, Oxford; 9 41 Tracy Gordon, Strong; 10 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 11 64 Ryan Deane, Winterport; 12 88 Kyle DeSouza, East Providence, RI; 13 32 Nick Jenkins, Brownville; 14 44 Kyle Treadwell, Buckfield; 15 46 Dennis Spencer, Oxford; 16 16 Travis Stearns, Auburn; 17 0 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 18 77 Maggie Ferland, Poland; 19 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield.

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps) 1 61 Matt Dufault, Turner; 2 58 David Whittier, West Poland; 3 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 4 33 Andrew Breton, Sabattus; 5 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 6 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 7 36 Richard Spaulding, Lisbon; 8 25 Mike Rand, Bridgton; 9 77 Bryce Mains, Naples; 10 60 Richard Wentworth, Center Conway, NH; 11 4 Jordan Russell, Norway; 12 71 Jason LaValley, Auburn; 13 05 Glen Reynolds, Greene; 14 24 Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; DNS 5 Guy Childs, Sr., Sabattus.

MacDonald Motors of Bridgton Bandits (20 laps)
1 8 Joshua Knoll, Mechanic Falls; 2 91 Jamie Heath, Waterford; 3 26 Tyler Green, Turner; 4 08 Michael McKinney, Berlin, NH; 5 1 Brandon Varney, Auburn; 6  21 Dustin Salley, Poland; 7 13 Bill Grover, Waterford; 8 3 Charlie Hall, Oxford; 9 79 Jason Cummings, Fryeburg; 10 5 Jacob Hall, Oxford; 11 41 Brad Johnson, Fairfield; 12 2 Cam Childs, Leeds; 13 4 Caleb Emerson-Mains, New Gloucester; 14 44x Rick Montminy, Auburn; 15 12 Tyler Merrill, Poland; 16 18 Brian Hiscock, Turner; 17 56 Adrianna McDaniel, Bridgton; 18 82 James Record, Oxford; 19 33 Matt Hiscock, Turner; 20 32 Troy Smith, Bridgton; 21 77 Rob Crepeau, Minot; 22 14 Adam O'Neil, Lewiston.

Dave's Small Engines / Ariens / Gravely Figure 8 (15 laps) 1 54 David Smith, South Paris; 2 27 Jon Lizotte, Lewiston; 3 97 Eric Hodgkins, Minot; 4 4 Kyle Kilgore, South Paris; 5 3 Robert Morey, Lisbon; 6 41 Greg Durgin, South Paris; 7 39 Gale Williams, Auburn Township.

North East Classic Lites (20 laps) 1 30 Duane Skofield, Plaistow, NH; 2 18 Eric SkofieldPlaistow, NH; 3 01 Sam Gilman, Sandown, NH; 4 24 Dan Poliquin, Plaistow, NH; 5 85 Tom Harton, Barnstad, NH; 6 25 Chris Sullivan, Barington, NH; 7 0 Eddie Gilman, Sandown, NH; 8 33 Kevin Merryfield, Rochester, NH; 9 04 Stu McCormack, Plaistow, NH; 10 29 Justin Harris, Lee, NH; 11 19 Chris Waites, Haverhill, MA; 12 11 Robbie Bryant, Weymouth, MA; 13 94 Doug Dawkins, Haverhill, MA; 14 7 Eric Boucher, Lebanon, NH; 15 15 Paul Colson, Avon, MA; 16 46 Curt Finch, Middleboro, MA; 17 36 Dave McLean, Greenland, NH; 18 63 Adam McLean, Greenland, NH.