|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |  Monster Trucks  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |
100 Green-Flag Laps for the SLMs
Top 3 finishers are guaranteed 
Oxford 250 Provisionals
(No PASS Points)
Helliwell conquers Oxford Plains Speedway,
earns HP Hood Oxford 250 spot in 100-lap
PASS Super Late Model triumph
Oxford, Maine - Wayne Helliwell, Jr. of Dover, New Hampshire raced to a convincing win aboard the Bruce Bernhardt Ford to earn a career-first victory at Oxford Plains Speedway in Pro All Stars Series Super Late Model competition on Sunday evening.

Helliwell's triumph earned an immediate financial reward of $2000, but more importantly, it nails down a coveted guaranteed spot in the rich, 43rd Annual HP Hood Oxford 250 on August 28 if he otherwise fails to earn a spot in all available qualifying races.

Adam Polvinen of Auburn paced the early stages of the 100-lapper after outgunning Boca Raton, Florida's Dalton Sargeant early on. Helliwell made steady progress from his 12th starting position, earned by gaining six spots in his heat race, and once in front he had no match on this night.

Runner-up Scott Farrington of Minot and third-place finisher Sargeant also earned conditional 250 starting spots after exhausting all other options. Farrington started fifth in the 100-lapper and watched a few rivals go by early on before making a late charge into second position under the checkered flag.

Sargeant battled with the frontrunners and, short of victory, had a successful night. Buckfield's Timmy Brackett, the reigning track champion and current points leader in Budweiser Championship Series Super Late Model competition at Oxford Plains Speedway, was the fourth-place finisher. Polvinen, who led early, and led often, closed out the top five.

Despite the fact that recent series winners were not eligible for the event, a stellar field of 36 PASS North Super Late Models were on hand for the night before the 4th 100-lapper. Polvinen, Sargeant and Windham's Bobby Timmons of Windham won heat races. Dale Shaw of Center Conway, New Hampshire won the last chance qualifier.

While no free pass to the big HP Hood Oxford 250 was up for grabs, there was still a $2000 top prize for the Colossal Carnage 100 Enduro race for four and six-cylinder cars co-featured on the special Sunday racing program at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Oxford's own Shaun Hinkley, the reigning king of the Bandits class, outlasted Matt Mahar after swapping the lead a time or two. Jacob Hethcoat, Cam Childs and Michael Ogden filled out the top five. Close to sixty cars started the race.

The North East Street Stock Tour was in town for a 35-lapper, but despite the presence of a few invaders, it was Turner's Matt Dufault prevailing, scoring his second win of the weekend aboard the Rodney Williams 61 at Oxford Plains Speedway. Dufault has won in his last three starts in the ride.

Dufault led a sweep of the top five by Maine drivers, with four of those weekly Oxford Plains Speedway competitors. Bryce Mains of Naples, Kurt Hewins of Leeds, David Whittier of West Poland and Jonathan Emerson of Sabattus rounded out the top five.

Cam Childs of Leeds prevailed in a wild 10-lap Flagpole Race. Bryce Mains of Naples was a controversial winner in a kind of, sort of Spectator Drags finale over Jeff Audet. New Hampshire's Jim Pineo smoked Jordan Russell and the rest in Smoky Donut Show competition.

Wednesday, July 6 the NAPA Acceleration Series takes center stage at Oxford Plains Speedway with five divisions of action on tap for five bucks at the grandstand gate. It's Budweiser Championship Series Fan Appreciation Night with $5 grandstand admission on Friday, July 8 for Super Late Models, Street Stocks, Bandits and Figure 8s. For more information visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Unofficial finishes from PASS & Motor Mayhem racing program at Oxford Plains Speedway on Sunday, July 3, 2016:

Photos by Norm Marx

Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model Non-Winners (100 laps)
1 27 Wayne Helliwell, Jr., Dover, NH; 2 22 Scott Farrington, Minot; 3 55 Dalton Sargeant, Boca Raton, FL; 4 60 Timmy Brackett, Buckfield; 5 73 Adam Polvinen, Auburn; 6 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 7 40 Dan McKeage, Gorham; 8 48 Bobby Timmons, Windham; 9 41 Tracy Gordon, Strong; 10 90 Joe Pastore, Jr., Gorham; 11 20 Michael Landry, Oakland; 12 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 13 01 Andy Saunders, Ellsworth; 14 12 Derek Griffith, Hudson, NH; 15 23 Dave Farrington, Jr., Jay; 16 59 Reid Lanpher, Manchester; 17 60 Dale Shaw, Center Conway, NH; 18 88 Kyle DeSouza, Fairhaven, MA; 19 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 20 78 Brandon Barker, Windham; 21 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 22 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 23 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 24 17 Trevor Sanborn, East Parsonsfield; 25 14 Scott McDaniel, Livermore; 26 2 Nick Cusack, Scarborough; 27 2 Chola Shay, Matamoras, PA; 28 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner; 29 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford; 30 42 Corey Bubar, Windham; 31 47 Kelly Moore, Scarborough; 32 66 Mike Fowler, Scarborough; 33 05 Jacob Dore, Sanford. DNS 75 Gary Smith, Bangor; DNS 44 Rusty Poland, Windham; DNS 44 Kyle Treadwell, Buckfield.

North East Street Stock Tour

North East Street Stock Tour (35 laps) 1 61 Matt Dufault, Turner; 2 77 Bryce Mains, Naples; 3 55 Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 4 58 David Whittier, West Poland; 5 24 Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 6 3 Jordan Pearson, Corinth; 7 4 Dwight Moody, n/a; 8 33 Frankie L'Etoile, Sr., Wethersfield, CT; 9 74 Joe Arena, Bristol, CT; 10 79 Travis Lovejoy, Sanford; 11 29 Trace Beyer, West Dover, VT; 12 14 Steve Barrett, Preston, CT; 13 2 Jim Boyle, Waterford, CT; 14 24 Jeff Alley, Machias; 15 11 Keith Ogden, Holden. DNS 87 Dan Bryan, Fryeburg.

Colossal Carnage 4/6-cyl. Enduro (100 laps) 1 2 Shaun Hinkley, 2 74X Matt Mahar, 3 32 Jacob Hethcoat, 4 23 Cam Childs, 5 83 Michael Ogden, 6 1 Kyle Enman, 7 41 Brad Johnson, 8 66 Billy McIntyre, 9 37 Dylan Freeman, 10 4 Robert Anderson, 11 11 Zack Emerson, 12 94 Rob Brideau, 13 35 Ken Ogden, 14 K21 Philip Knowlton, 15 180 Troy Duguay, 16 5 Lexy Duguay, 17 05 Rick Dobson, 18 911 Chris Brown, 19 19 Zach Audet, 20 49 Jake Dobson, 21 60 Jake Plummer, 22 8 Josh Knoll, 23 06 Alex Smith, 24 91 Chris Knight, 25 77 Jeremy Lauzier, 26 106 Ryan Glover, 27 34 David Ogden, 28 55 Jason Cyr, 29 12 Kurt Whiting, 30 181 Gary Steadman, 31 10-4 George Dunn, Jr. , 32 35x Richard Mason, 33 71 Jessey Milledge, 34 44 Edward Bartlett. (More than 20 scorecards were apparently not turned in. At least 55 cars started the race.)

Flagpole Race (10 laps) 1 23 Cam Childs; 2 22 Josh Knoll; 3 83 Michael Ogden; 4 38 Dillen Christian; 5 12 Doug Dixon; 6 14 Tyler Merrill; 7 7 Darryl Ogden; 8 911 Matt Brown; 9 71 Nicholas Dube; 10 94 Rob Brideau.

Spectator Drags: 1 Bryce Mains, 2 Jeff Audet.

Smoky Donut Show: 1 Jim Pineo, 2 Jordan Russell.