|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |  Monster Trucks  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |

South Paris racer establishes self as local favorite
for August 30th AIM Recycling USA Oxford 250
Oxford, Maine – Shawn Knight of South Paris won his third Budweiser Oxford Championship Series Super Late Model race of the season Saturday night, with a dominant late-race performance at Oxford Plains Speedway.

It was Knight’s third victory in just seven attempts this season, clearly establishing the South Paris racer as the chief hope for victory in the August 30 AIM Recycling USA Oxford 250 among weekly Budweiser Championship Series racers.

Knight took command just past the halfway point from Turner teenager Gunnar Rowe, who built an healthy lead as Knight worked his way through the pack. A caution flag and restart put Knight alongside, and the veteran was just hooked up, and he drove away. Rowe held on for an impressive second-place finish.

Mark Lundblad, Jr. of Conway, New Hampshire posted a career-best third-place Super Late Model finish, driving around several competitive racing machines en route to his first trophy in the top class at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Buckfield’s Vanna Brackett and Wayne Helliwell, Jr. of Dover, New Hampshire rounded out the top five. Rowe and current championship points leader Timmy Brackett of Buckfield won the Super Late Model heat races.

Rookie Calvin Rose, Jr. of Turner came out on top after a wild, caution-filled 30-lap feature race for the Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock division. It was the first win in the class for the former Mini Stock hotshoe.

Rose’s door to victory lane was opened up when the three cars in front of him got together on a restart late in the race. Rose then outran the previous week’s winner, David Whittier of Poland, to the checkered flag.

Joining Rose and Whittier on the podium was Rick Spaulding of Lisbon, one of the three drivers in front of the eventual winner on the fateful restart. Jonathan Emerson of Sabattus and Oxford’s Josh Childs rounded out the top five. Peter Huston of Lisbon Falls and Zach Emerson of Sabattus scored heat race wins in the Street Stock division.

Scott Alexander of Newburgh led flag-to-flag in the 25-lap Modified main event. The previous week’s winner, Evan Armington of Lovell, pulled alongside the eventual winner at one point, but Alexander maintained his advantage until the checkered flag waved.

Scott Robbins of Dixfield stayed atop the OPS Mods championship standings with a third-place finish. Ryan Phillips of Buxton and Windham’s Jimmy Emerson rounded out the top five. Alexander also won the heat race.

Hall of Famer Jon Lizotte prevailed once again in Wood Pellet Warehouse Figure 8 division action. Lizotte took the lead from Carthage racer Tommy Tompkins and led Tompkins to the checkered flag. Auburn’s Mike St. Germain claimed the third-place trophy.

Cam Childs of Leeds charged through the field in short order, then held off Bandits points leader Shaun Hinkley of Oxford to score yet another victory in his 20-lap finale. Oxford’s Jacob Hall nailed down the final trophy spot in the entry-level main event. Adam O’Neil of Lewiston and Hinkley won the heat races for the Bandits class.

Budwesier Oxford Championship Series competition resumes on Saturday night, August 22 with the final Super Late Model race before the 42nd Annual AIM Recycling USA Oxford 250 classic, set for Sunday, August 30 at 1:30 p.m. For more information visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Results from Budwesier Championship Series competition
Oxford Plains Speedway - Saturday, August 15, 2015
(finishing position, car number, driver, driver’s hometown)

Budweiser Super Late Model (50 laps
) 1 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 2 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner; 3 28 Mark Lundblad, Jr., Conway, NH; 4 3 Vanna Brackett, Buckfield; 5 27 Wayne Helliwell, Jr., Dover, NH; 6 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 7 60 Timmy Brackett, Buckfield; 8 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 9 21 David Oliver, Standish; 10 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 11 73 Adam Polvinen, Auburn; 12 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford; 13 06 Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, NH; 14 44 Kyle Treadwell, Buckfield; 15 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 16 82 John Michael Dhennette, Thompson, CT; 17 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 18 0 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 19 72 Chris Coolidge, Norway; 20 77 Maggie Ferland, Poland; 21 5 Dustin Bisson, Greene.

Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps)
1 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 2 58 David Whittier, Poland; 3 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 4 24 Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 5 3 Josh Childs, Oxford; 6 63 Bryce Mains, Naples; 7 17 Gary Davis, Harrison; 8 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 9 71 Jason LaValley, Auburn; 10 60 Richard Wentworth, Center Conway, NH; 11 03 Zach Dresser, Oxford; 12 4 Jordan Russell, Norway; 13 99 Matt Williams, Brownfield; 14 33 Andrew Breton, Sabattus; 15 20 Peter Huston, Lisbon Falls.

OPS Mods (25 laps)
1 17 Scott Alexander, Newburgh; 2 9 Evan Armington, Lovell; 3 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 4 64 Matt Sanborn, Westbrook; 5 12 Jimmy Emerson, Windham; 6 89 Ryan Phillips, Buxton; 7 05 Ron Henry, New Gloucester; 8 4 Nik Coates, Turner; 9 2 Randy Sanborn, West Baldwin.

Wood Pellet Warehouse Figure 8 (15 laps)
1 27 Jon Lizotte, Lewiston; 2 127 Tommy Tompkins, Carthage; 3 777 Mike St. Germain, Auburn; 4 97 Eric Hodgkins, Auburn;
5 17 Mike Neddenreip, Harrison; 6 6 Geoff Low, Minot.

Bandits (20 laps)
1 56 Cam Childs, Leeds; 2 2 Shaun Hinkley, Oxford; 3 5 Jake Hall, Oxford.