|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |  Monster Trucks  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |

Chris Coolidge nails down first Super Late Model win in final tune-up for Sunday’s 42nd annual AIM Recycling Oxford 250

Oxford, Maine -- Chris Coolidge of Norway broke a long dry spell, leading from green to checkered flags in Saturday's 50-lap Super Late Model race, topping the Budweiser Championship Series weekly racing card at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Coolidge, who posted the quickest times in qualifying events and dominated in the final Super Late Model race at OPS prior to Sunday, August 30's AIM Oxford 250, establishing himself as a serious threat to score a healthy payday in the 42nd annual classic.

Coolidge built a healthy advantage in the early stages of the main event, with Kyle Treadwell of Buckfield able to substantially close the gap in the closing laps, but not close enough to deny Coolidge an emotional, elusive Super Late Model score.

Coolidge and Treadwell were joined on the podium by Vanna Btackett of Buckfield. Multi-time OPS track champion Shawn Martin of Turner and Berwick's Joey Doiron rounded out the top five. Coolidge and Super Late Model points leader Timmy Brackett of Buckfield won heat races.

Zach Emerson of Sabattus vaulted back into the championship points lead, posting a career-best third victory of the year in Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock competition. Lisbon's Rick 'Flash' Spaulding thrilled the crowd with successful three-wide antics en route to runner-up honors.

The previous week's winner, rookie Calvin Rose, Jr., of Turner, claimed third-place hardware. David Whittier of West Poland crossed the line in fourth position, followed by Sabatttus teen Jonathan Emerson. Feature winner Emerson and Andrew Breton of Sabattus won heat races for Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stocks.

Maine Racing Hall of Famer Jon Lizotte prevailed by inches in a fiercely-contested, paint-swapping climax versus Tommy Tompkins of Carthage in the 15-lap Wood Pellet Warehouse Figure 8 race. Tompkins, piloting a car driven to victory lane by Lizotte some ten times earlier in the year, led all but the final lap, only losing at the line by mere inches. Eric Hodgkins of Auburn nailed down a third-place finish, in front of Auburn's Mike St. Germain and Geoffrey Low of Minot.

Kyle Hewins of Leeds charged from the back of the starting lineup to the front of the pack, winning a wildly-entertaining 20-lap feature race for the Bandits division. The winner's impressive run was aided by misfortune for both points leader Shaun Hinkley of Oxford and the division's hottest racer of late, Cam Childs of Leeds.

Richard Kimball of Mechanic Falls returned after a few missed events and proved to be the best of the rest, with Hinkley rebounding like a pinball to claim the final trophy. Oxford's Jacob Hall crossed the line in fourth position, followed by a fast-closing Childs. Kimball and Troy Smith of Bridgton won Bandit division heat races.

The 42nd Annual AIM Recycling USA Oxford 250 weekend schedule kicks off on Friday night, August 28 at 7:00 p.m. with a NAPA Night card highlighting nine divisions of competition from both the weekly Budweiser Championship Series and NAPA Acceleration Series programs. On Saturday, August 29 at 6:00 p.m. the Valenti Modified Racing Series tops a card also featuring the Wicked Good Antique Racers, The North East Mini Stock Tour and more. Sunday's Super Late Model extravaganza kicks off at 2:00 p.m. with HP Hood qualifying heat races. For more information please visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Unofficial Results from Budweiser Championship Series
Oxford Plains Speedway; Saturday, August 22, 2015
(finishing position, car number, driver, driver's hometown)

Super Late Model (50 laps)
1 72 Chris Coolidge, Norway; 2 44 Kyle Treadwell, Buckfield; 3 3 Vanna Brackett, Buckfield; 4 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 5 73 Joey Doiron, Berwick; 6 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 7 60 Timmy Brackett, Buckfield; 8 0 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 9 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 10 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner; 11 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 12 77 Maggie Ferland, Poland; 13 73 Adam Polvinen, Auburn; 14 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 15 75 Gary Smith, Bangor; 16 66 Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, MA; 17 11 Tyler King, East Livermore.

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps)
1 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 2 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 3 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 4 58 David Whittier, West Poland; 5 24 Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 6 33 Andrew Breton, Sabattus; 7 20 Peter Huston, Lisbon Falls; 8 3 Josh Childs, Oxford; 9 60 Richard Wentworth, Center Conway, NH; 10 14 Michael Roe, West Paris; 11 03 Zach Dresser, Oxford; 12 71 Jason LaValley, Auburn.

Wood Pellet Warehouse Figure 8 (15 laps)
1 27 Jon Lizotte, Lewiston; 2 113 Tommy Tompkins, Carthage; 3 97 Eric Hodgkins, Auburn; 4 777 Mike St. Germain, Auburn; 5 6 Geoffrey Low, Minot.

Bandits (20 laps)
1 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 2 13 Richard Kimball, Mechanic Falls; 3 2 Shawn Hinkley, Oxford; 4 5 Jacob Hall, Oxford; 5 56 Cam Childs, Leeds; 6 32 Troy Smith, Bridgton; 7 69 T. James Devlin, West Paris; 8 17 Dan Wade, New Gloucester; 9 14x Adam O'Neil, Lewiston; 10 23 Chase Emerson, Turner; 11 88 Brian Hiscock, Turner; 12 48 Curtis Fanjoy, Oxford; 13 44 Rick Montminy, Auburn; 14 6 Gregory Durgin, South Paris; 15 96 Justin Gibbons, Bridgton; 16 121 Jeremy Farr, Auburn; 17 11 Derek Cook, Livermore Falls; 18 26 Tyler Green, Turner; 19 77 Rob Crepeau, n/a.