Route 26, Oxford, ME 
Phone: (207) 539-8865 


August 19, 2009

Rookie Robbins rolls to first Outlaw win;
DQ ends Oliver's Truck streak at five  

OXFORD, Maine - Two point leaders were disqualified in the post-race inspection and another finished outside the top 10 in a season-changing Wednesday night of Acceleration Series racing at Oxford Plains Speedway.

David Childs (Chimney Tech Outlaw) and Kevin Oliver (Call of the Wild RV Center Sport Truck) failed the tech check after their 20-lap features. That turn of events denied Oliver his sixth straight victory in the pickup division.

Ryan Robbins was a runaway winner ahead of Childs and the rest of the Chimney Tech Outlaw 'A' field, posting his first victory as a rookie in the class.

Guy Childs and Jim Davis Jr. also prevailed in Outlaw action. Ryan Farrar ascended to his fourth win of the season and reclaimed the Sport Truck point lead after the Oliver infraction.

John Childs and Jim Hart each posted their second victory of the season in Macdonald Motors Runnin' Rebel. Vanna Brackett prevailed for the third time in Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Ladies, with Bill Grover leading the Goulet Home Inspections Renegades for the third straight time and fifth overall.

Robbins used the outside lane to charge from fourth to first and set sail in the Outlaw finale. Terrific racing from second to ninth ensued a full straightaway behind the winner. 

When the father-son team of Josh (second) and David Childs (fourth) was removed from the running order, it was Steve Moon snagging second ahead of last week's winner Chris Coolidge and new series point leader Chris Burgess. Zach Bowie shuffled ahead to fifth.

Guy Childs charged from sixth to first on the opening lap of the 'B' feature and cruised to his second straight victory and third of the month.

Again it was a four-car scrap for second providing the entertainment value, with reigning division champion Ron Abbott Jr. getting the better of John Patria in the outside lane on the final lap. Josh Paradis edged Michael Haynes for fourth.

Davis flashed to his fifth win of this comeback season, rallying from 11th to first in the first eight laps of the 'C' main. Missing both halves of a double-feature night two weeks ago due to mechanical failure sidetracked Davis in the point standings and put him in the low-point group.

Allen's Ladies champion Dottie Patria led the first seven laps and posted a career-best Outlaw finish of second in only her second start of the season. Carey Robertson was third, followed by Todd Hall and Phil Knowlton.

John Childs and Brady Romano started on the front row and ran away from the field in a caution-free Rebel 'A' feature.

Romano lurked within a car length but couldn't make the pass in the late stages. Zach Audet was unchallenged for third, with red-hot rookie Ryan Hewins holding Dustin Salley at bay for fourth.

Usual suspects Troy Jordan (12th), Kyle Hewins (14th) and Matt Dufault (18th after a flat tire) all struggled in the four-cylinder showcase.

Hart charged to the lead on lap 2 and stayed at the front of an evenly matched, four-car gaggle at the head of the 'B' main. Derek Cook applied pressure throughout but was relegated to second. 

Jeff Hebert and Mark Childs Jr. swapped third on five occasions before Hebert held the spot at the checkers. Brian Nason wound up fifth.

Farrar overcame a race-long battle with Opie Allard, Corey Williams and John Lizotte and put himself in position to in inherit the Truck victory, his first since June 27.

Lizotte landed second with another strong run from the rear of the field. Jeff Schmidt surged to third after the Oliver dismissal, with Allard fourth and Williams fifth.

Brackett went two months between victories after setting the all-time Ladies Acceleration Series wins record in June. Her recent rough luck turned around when she overtook Christina Spaulding on lap 4 and left the field in her tire tracks.

A green-white-checkered finish gave Patria a late opportunity to bid for the win, but Brackett held her line and prevailed by a car length. 

Spaulding held onto third, while division point leader Cathy Manchester overcame a spin and a fuel leak to swipe fourth and protect a two-point advantage over Brackett. Rookie Tori Burgess was fifth.

Grover spotted defending Renegade champ Jason Hannigan the lead at the outset before driving underneath Hannigan on lap 2. Grover maintained a two-car length lead until the conclusion.

Bob Morey took third and moved into a virtual tie for the point lead with Gerard Cote, who was fifth. Spencer Morse, a 16-year-old second-generation racer, fashioned fourth in his first OPS start.

Oxford's busy weekend continues Thursday with the championship round of the Agren Appliance Summer Slam triple crown, with 75-lap features for all three Championship Series divisions. Qualifying begins at 6:30 p.m.

1. Ryan Robbins, Dixfield
2. Steve Moon, Gray
3. Chris Coolidge, Norway
4. Chris Burgess, Sabattus
5. Zach Bowie, Lisbon
6. Dan Brown, Peru
7. Jim Drake, Hebron
8. Addison Bowie, Auburn
9. Jerry Goss, Mechanic Falls
10. Steve Brill, Bridgton
11. Doug Degroat, Oxford
12. Shannon Judd, Jay
13. Jerry Freve, Buckfield
DQ Josh Childs, Oxford
DQ David Childs, Oxford

1. Guy Childs, Turner
2. Ron Abbott Jr., Sabattus
3. John Patria, Turner
4. Josh Paradis, Sumner
5. Michael Haynes, Livermore Falls
6. Tyler Belanger, Sumner
7. David Brown, Poland
8. Bubba Collins, New Gloucester
9. Jonathan Baldwin, Auburn
10. Bob Ferguson, New Gloucester
11. Kyle Curtis, Oxford
12. Scott Hethcoat, Danville Junction
13. Clint Sherwood, Poland
14. John Spencer Jr., Farmington
15. Jay Wilkins, Gray

1. Jim Davis Jr., Sabattus
2. Dottie Patria, Turner
3. Carey Robertson, Leeds
4. Todd Hall, Auburn
5. Phil Knowlton, Poland
6. Brian Picard, Gorham
7. Wayne Estes, Sumner
8. Nic Stanley, Buckfield
9. Chad Truman, South Paris
10. Dennis Morang, South Paris
11. Don Veinott, Sabattus
12. Matt Weeks, Greene
13. Gerry Richard, Leeds
14. Justin Vining, Peru
15. Scott Veinott, Greene

1. John Childs, Leeds
2. Brady Romano, Livermore Falls
3. Zach Audet, Wilton
4. Ryan Hewins, Leeds
5. Dustin Salley, Auburn
6. Mike Ward, Harrison
7. Gerard Cote, Oxford
8. Jamie Leavitt, Minot
9. Corey Beaulieu, Oxford
10. Bill Sprague, Minot
11. Craig Farrington, Minot
12. Troy Jordan, Turner
13. Roger Bourgoin, Sabattus
14. Kyle Hewins, Leeds
15. Jason Berry, Turner
16. Scott Farrington, Minot
17. Jamie Heath, Waterford
18. Matt Dufault, Turner.

1. Jim Hart, Turner
2. Derek Cook, Livermore Falls
3. Jeff Hebert, Lewiston
4. Mark Childs Jr., Mechanic Falls
5. Brian Nason, Lewiston
6. Bob Danforth, Stoneham
7. Craig Bartlett, Denmark
8. Bill Dunphy, New Gloucester
9. Charlie Hall, Oxford
10. Michael Carver, Durham
11. Carl Conant, Lewiston
12. Bob Lucas, Peru
13. Cody Smith, Oxford
14. Todd Sawyer, Pownal
15. Chad Wills, Mechanic Falls
16. Gene White, Lisbon
17. Ellery Phillips Jr., Turner

1. Ryan Farrar, Oxford
2. John Lizotte, Mechanic Falls
3. Jeff Schmidt, Mechanic Falls
4. Opie Allard, Harpswell
5. Corey Williams, Sumner
6. Ross Spurling, New Gloucester
7. Ryan Varney, South Paris
8. Herb Farrar, Sumner
9. Laurette Theriault, South Casco
10. Eugene Corson, Sumner
11. Nathan Merrill, Norway
12. Jerry Stevens, Searsport
DQ Kevin Oliver, Gray.

1. Vanna Brackett, Buckfield
2. Dottie Patria, Turner
3. Christina Spaulding, Lewiston
4. Cathy Manchester, Gray
5. Tori Burgess, Sabattus
6. Missy Blash, Oxford
7. Missy Morgan, Lewiston
8. Kristen Brown, Poland
9. Lisa Brooks, Auburn
10. Sue Veinott, Sabattus
11. Shannon Wheeler, Auburn
12. Annie Chartier, Mexico

1. Bill Grover, Topsham
2. Jason Hannigan, Greene
3. Bob Morey, Lisbon
4. Spencer Morse, Waterford
5. Gerard Cote, Oxford
6. Jesse Morey, Lisbon


Go to the 

web site for today's complete photo gallery.

(207) 645-4571
Photos from 
all OPS divisions!