Route 26, Oxford, ME 
Phone: (207) 539-8865 


August 30, 2008 (quick story - update Tuesday)

Adams, Tripp, Marshall cruise to titles

OXFORD, Maine - So much for playing it conservatively.

Five drivers entered Polly's Variety Championship Night at Oxford Plains Speedway with a relatively comfortable point lead Saturday. None of them left anything to chance, however, finishing in the top five to clinch their championships in style.

By running fourth in the Oxford Networks Late Model 40-lap feature, Travis Adams won his third consecutive crown and fourth of his career. 

He joins a select group of four-time champions at OPS that includes Jeff Taylor (nine), Mike Rowe (seven), Carey Martin (five), and Dennis Spencer Jr., Leland Kangas, Jon Lizotte, Blaine Chapman, David Smith and Willie Buffington (four each).

"We bought this car from Race Basics, and it's won four of the last six championships," Adams said. "I'm proud of this team and proud of my family."

Ricky Rolfe won the final Late Model feature of the season, his sixth in 13 starts this summer. Rolfe and Adams celebrated with dual burnouts against the front stretch wall to the delight of the large crowd.

Don Wentworth and Billy Childs Jr. finished second and third after a tense, three-car battle with Adams. The champion's closest pursuer in the points, Shawn Martin, wound up eighth.

Skip Tripp needed only to start his heat and feature to become Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Strictly Stock champ for the first time. He ran fifth in the 30-lap finale.

"We won a couple of races and got off to a great start, but then we had our DNF's, we had out stop-and-go penalty one week," Tripp said. "It was a real challenge. Richard and Kelly of R.P.M. Racing Engines gave me a great opportunity to drive this car, and I'm so thankful for that."

Mike Short ran away with his fifth victory of the season, with B.J. Chapman, Larry Emerson, Tommy Tompkins and Tripp rounding out the top five.

Marshall, only completing his third full season as a driver, joined the roster of OPS champions who accomplished the feat without the benefit of a victory, His fourth-place finish Saturday night was his 10th top-five finish in 20 starts. 

Only three times did Marshall end up outside the top 10.

"I've never been more nervous in a race car than tonight," Marshall said. "I really wanted to finish third, but Kevin (Bishop) definitely wanted it more than me, so I sort of let him have it."

Bishop's pass of Marshall for third took place nearly a full straightaway behind winner Adam Polvinen and runner-up Steve Barker. Polvinen carried his third checkered flag of the campaign. Justin Karkos took fifth.

Jordan chased teammate Jason Berry across the line at the front of a 25-car Macdonald Motors Runnin' Rebel field.

The win was a career first for Berry, who was Lampron Energy Rookie of the Year in the division. The Agren Appliance Saturday Showdown title is the first of any kind for Jordan, who won twice in the eight-race weekend series.

Josh Childs, Calvin Rose Jr. and Scott Farrington followed Berry and Jordan across the stripe.

Record-smashing Jake Burns coupled his Wednesday Acceleration Series title with the Agren honors in the Call of the Wild RV Center Sport Truck division. Burns fell a truck length shy of his astonishing 13th win of the year, however, with Ryan Farrar claiming his second victory by that margin. Ross Spurling, John Lizotte and Jeff Schmidt followed.

OXFORD NETWORKS LATE MODEL (40 laps): 1. Ricky Rolfe, Albany Township; 2. Don Wentworth, Otisfield; 3. Billy Childs Jr., Leeds; 4. Travis Adams, Canton; 5. Jeff White, Winthrop; 6. Shawn Knight, South Paris; 7. Dennis Spencer Jr., Oxford; 8. Shawn Martin, Turner; 9. Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 10. Tom Rowe, Turner; 11. Nick Brown, Bath; 12. Neil Martin, Freeport; 13. Ben Ashline, Pittston; 14. Cecil Bryant, Wilton; 15. Tyson Jordan, Poland; 16. Matt Sanborn, West Baldwin; 17. Scott Luce, Strong; 18. David Vaughn, Naples; 19. Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 20. Tommy Ricker, Poland; 21. Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 22. Ron Charpentier Jr., Wales.

ALLEN'S COFFEE FLAVORED BRANDY STRICTLY STOCK (30 laps): 1. Mike Short, Auburn; 2. B.J. Chapman, Bridgton; 3. Larry Emerson, Durham; 4. Tommy Tompkins, Carthage; 5. Skip Tripp, Poland; 6. Kim Tripp, Oxford; 7. Sumner Sessions, Norway; 8. Mike St. Germain, Auburn; 9. Josh May, Harrison; 10. Mark Bowie, Mechanic Falls; 11. Michael Roe, West Paris; 12. Craig Coolidge, Auburn; 13. Chris Burgess, Lewiston; 14. Jon Brill, Sebago; 15. Glen Henderson, Sabattus; 16. Shane Green, South Paris; 17. Matt Williams, Brownfield. DNS: George Haskell, Casco; Randy Heath, Casco.

ALLEN'S COFFEE FLAVORED BRANDY MINI STOCK (30 laps): 1. Adam Polvinen, Oxford; 2. Steve Barker, Jay; 3. Kevin Bishop, South Paris; 4. Ashley Marshall, Jay; 5. Justin Karkos, Jay; 6. Shane Kaherl, Jay; 7. Larry Melcher, Livermore Falls; 8. Darrell Moore, Mechanic Falls; 9. Greg Watkins, Bridgton; 10. Rick Giguere, Auburn; 11. Brad Dwinal, Freeport; 12. Chuck Higgins, Lewiston; 13. Bob Martin, Lewiston; 14. Craig Moore, South Woodstock; 15. Matt Moore, South Paris; 16. Billy Childs Sr., Leeds; 17. Butch Keene, Turner; 18. Dave Mooney, Wales; 19. Brian Brackett, Oxford; 20. Dale Durgin, Norway; 21. Bill Mooney, New Gloucester; 22. Bill Thibeault, Oxford; 23. Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls.

MACDONALD MOTORS RUNNIN' REBEL (20 laps): 1. Jason Berry, Turner; 2. Troy Jordan, Turner; 3. Josh Childs, Oxford; 4. Calvin Rose Jr., Turner; 5. Scott Farrington, Minot; 6. Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 7. Zach Audet, Chesterville; 8. Matt Dufault, Turner; 9. Gary Chiasson, Peru; 10. Charlie Webster, Auburn; 11. Bill Sprague, Minot; 12. Derek Cook, Livermore Falls; 13. Gerard Cote, Oxford; 14. Nate Dubuc, Lewiston; 15. Cody Smith, Oxford; 16. Jonah Farrington, Hebron; 17. Don Smith, Oxford; 18. Ellery Phillips Jr., Turner; 19. Michael Carver, Durham; 20. Doug Degroat, Oxford; 21. Gene White, Lisbon; 22. Jeff Hebert, Auburn; 23. Dustin Couture, Auburn; 24. John Childs, Leeds; 25. Dwayne White, Livermore.

CALL OF THE WILD RV CENTER SPORT TRUCK (20 laps): 1. Ryan Farrar, Oxford; 2. Jake Burns, Gray; 3. Ross Spurling, New Gloucester; 4. John Lizotte, Mechanic Falls; 5. Jeff Schmidt, Mechanic Falls; 6. Corey Williams, Sumner; 7. Geoff Griffiths, Lewiston.





fp_oxnet.jpg (6515 bytes)
Oxford Networks
Late Model

fp_allens.jpg (12045 bytes)
Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy
Strictly and Mini Stock

Photos by
Trudy Marshall

Click on photo
to enlarge

JAR.jpg (61160 bytes)

(207) 645-4571
Photos from 
all OPS divisions!