Route 26, Oxford, ME 
Phone: (207) 539-8865 


September 12, 2009 - quick story

Tripp takes ninth; Ricker, J. Childs win

OXFORD, Maine - Tommy Ricker needed almost three full seasons to claim his first Oxford Networks Late Model feature win at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The second one took little more than a month. Ricker took the lead from Scott Luce shortly before the halfway point and cruised to a caution-free, 40-lap victory on championship night.

Luce posted his second straight runner-up finish in the final event of the regular season. Ben Ashline, Jimmy Childs and Tim Brackett completed the top five.

Travis Adams, who clinched his fifth series championship and fourth straight with a week to spare, crossed the line eighth in the season finale.

Skip Tripp also entered the night not even needing to start the feature in order to celebrate his second straight Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Strictly Stock championship.

Nevertheless, Tripp closed out his campaign with a record-tying ninth win. Tripp knotted Dave MacDonald (1993) and Shane Green (2000) for most wins in a single Strictly season. It also was his sixth checkered flag in the final seven races of the summer.

Tommy Tompkins outlasted Mike Short for second in a hard-fought, 30-lap tangle. Short's departure to the pit on the final lap elevated Zach Emerson to third, followed by Matt Williams and Nick Hoyt.

Jimmy Childs claimed his fourth Allen's Mini Stock triumph of the season in front of defending champion Ashley Marshall and 2009 king Justin Karkos.

Karkos clinched the crown last week despite sustaining motor failure. The eight-time feature winner used a backup power plant from a 1987 Dodge Carvan to post his 15th podium finish of the season.

Butch Keene and Darrell Moore rounded out the top five.

Also taking advantage of a reserve option was David Childs, who steered Jerry Freve's car to seventh in a 27-car Chimney Tech Outlaw field to wrap up the Agren Appliance Saturday Showdown title.

Jim Davis Jr. held off rookie Josh Childs, David's son, for his division-leading seventh win of the season. Addison Bowie was third in front of Dan Brown and Steve Moon.

Dottie Patria pulled off the Allen's Ladies showdown title despite her absence from the final race. Missy Morgan needed to win to deny Patria her second straight championship, but she couldn't climb any higher than second before spinning on the final lap.

Deanna Robertson prevailed in the 10-lap sprint, chased by Wednesday night champion Cathy Manchester and Vanna Brackett. Tori Burgess and Debbie Marston were fourth and fifth.

OXFORD NETWORKS LATE MODEL (40 laps): 1. Tommy Ricker, Poland; 2. Scott Luce, Strong; 3. Ben Ashline, Pittston; 4. Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 5. Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 6. Don Wentworth, Otisfield; 7. Jeff White, Winthrop; 8. Travis Stearns, Auburn; 9. Shawn Martin, Turner; 10. Travis Adams, Canton; 11. Shawn Knight, South Paris; 12. Jeff Taylor, Norridgewock; 13. Gary Chiasson, Peru; 14. Jason Larrabee, Raymond; 15. Gerald Parlin, South Paris; 16. Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 17. Ron Charpentier Jr., Wales.

ALLEN'S COFFEE FLAVORED BRANDY STRICTLY STOCK (30 laps): 1. Skip Tripp, Auburn; 2. Tommy Tompkins, Carthage; 3. Zach Emerson, Durham; 4. Matt Williams, Brownfield; 5. Nick Hoyt, Poland; 6. Mike Short, Auburn; 7. Craig Coolidge, Auburn; 8. Jeremy Wescott, Naples; 9. Larry Emerson, Durham; 10. Kim Tripp, Oxford; 11. Ed Burlock, Minot; 12. Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 13. Derek Farrington, Freeport; 14. Josh Lovell, Norway.

ALLEN'S COFFEE FLAVORED BRANDY MINI STOCK (30 laps): 1. Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 2. Ashley Marshall, Jay; 3. Justin Karkos, Jay; 4. Butch Keene, Turner; 5. Darrell Moore, Mechanic Falls; 6. Jake Burns, Gray; 7. Jeff Beaule, Lewiston; 8. Matt Moore, South Paris; 9. Dan Morris, Auburn; 10. Greg Watkins, Bridgton; 11. Calvin Rose Jr., Turner; 12. Nik Coates, Lisbon; 13. Nathan Guptill, North Turner; 14. Jim Robbins, Dixfield; 15. Bill Mooney, New Gloucester; 16. Kevin Bishop, South Paris; 17. Bill Thibeault, Oxford; 18. Adam Polvinen, Oxford; 19. Bill Childs Sr., Leeds.

CHIMNEY TECH OUTLAW (20 laps): 1. Jim Davis Jr., Sabattus; 2. Josh Childs, Oxford; 3. Addison Bowie, Auburn; 4. Dan Brown, Peru; 5. Steve Moon, Gray; 6. Guy Childs, Turner; 7. David Childs, Oxford; 8. Chris Burgess, Buckfield; 9. Zach Bowie, Lisbon Falls; 10. Doug Degroat, Oxford; 11. Jay Wilkins, Gray; 12. Bob Ferguson, New Gloucester; 13. Bubba Collins, New Gloucester; 14. Jonathan Baldwin, Auburn; 15. Phil Knowlton, Poland; 16. Gerry Richard, Leeds; 17. Kyle Curtis, Oxford; 18. David Brown, Poland; 19. Dennis Morang, South Paris; 20. Scott Hethcoat, Danville Junction; 21. Rob Lowe, Lewiston; 22. Michael Haynes, Livermore Falls; 23. Randy Robitaille, Norway; 24. Steve Brill, Bridgton; 25. Kevin Leighton, Poland; 26. Todd Bisbee, South Paris; 27. Jim Drake, Hebron.

ALLEN'S COFFEE FLAVORED BRANDY LADIES (10 laps): 1. Deanna Robertson, South Paris; 2. Cathy Manchester, Gray; 3. Vanna Brackett, Buckfield; 4. Tori Burgess, Buckfield; 5. Debbie Marston, Hartford; 6. Missy Morgan, Lewiston; 7. Kristen Brown, Poland; 8. Annie Chartier, Mexico.



Go to the 

web site for today's complete photo gallery.

(207) 645-4571
Photos from 
all OPS divisions!